Bank holiday blues

I spent this weekend in Manchester.  I drank beer and vodka, visited clubs where the floors were so sticky your feet actually became superglued to them, partied to Roisin Murphy of Moloko by the main stage, went shopping and played a very silly drinking game where if one of us were to say “Ahoy” and raise their hand to their forehead, everyone else had to repond in kind.  Or face the penalty!  It was fun.

We went with two friends with the idea that I could share the driving, but as there were only two drivers out of the four of us, and as there was only one driver who wasn’t stoned out of the four of us, the joy of driving to Manchester and back fell to me.

In the spirit of the British bank holiday, we came down the slip road yesterday to witness the M6 in disguise as a busy car park.  Thankfully the traffic cleared when we reached Staffordshire and then moved mercifully quickly until we reached the M6 Toll, whereupon it ground to a rather unsatisfactory halt.  Conveniently just after the moment I turned to K and said, “I think I need a wee.”

So my rapidly swelling bladder and I had to fight through the traffic.  And to add insult to injury we had to pay £4.50 for the luxury of driving on the M6 Toll.

Finally we dropped the other two off and got home, having been on the road about 6 hours.  We then discovered that the kitten had had explosive diarrhoea and we were out of cat litter, so I had to speed to the nearest Co-op to get supplies.  Then I bent my nail back trying to open the living room door.  Being awake was no fun anymore.

Hercules is going to the vet today to get his second lot of jabs and his microchip so I will get my revenge for having to clear up his poo.

In other news, my novel is now over 22K words, but today is probably the last chance I will have to do any serious work on it for a while, as the school opens tomorrow and I keep having anxiety dreams about not being ready when my class start back in nine days time, so I will probably be in school every day from tomorrow onwards.

I should probably get showered as we have to be at the vets’ in 40 minutes.

One Response to Bank holiday blues

  1. courtney says:

    You know–it took forever for me to register that you had filled out the http line in my blog comments and then I was like, “Yay! Something new to read!”

    YAY SOMETHING NEW TO READ!!

    *goes to link you*

Leave a Reply

